Bitter Cocoa

DSC_3327

My best wishes for 2016! (last day of January, so I can still wish this to you)

May your 2016 be filled with love, happy moments and lots of good food!

We’ve settled back in to the bleakest of winter. There is no sparkling Christmas tree in our living room anymore, no feasts and gifts to look forward to. We spent time in the warmth of our family and friends and we are now back in grey streets, drudging through the cold and rain waiting for spring.

Here is a bitter cocoa recipe to get us through those hard times. This steaming fragrant cup will warm your heart and lighten up your smile at first taste. Hot cocoa is an instant pick me up.

I recently discovered that my office’s coffee machine makes Van Houten cocoa! Van Houten is the best cacao brand according to my family. Every so often, my dad uses it to make his own cocoa in which he dips buttered bread.

Sadly as soon I tasted the machine-made beverage available at my office, I was disappointed how sweet it tasted despite the great chocolate smell.

So here is my recipe. To alleviate the bitterness, I’ve added some milk chocolate making it richer and creamier.

If you prefer a less thick cocoa, only use 1 tablespoon of corn flour. Mine here is very thick and will stick perfectly on buttered bread.

Ingredients (makes two steaming, thick and silky cocoas):

  • 2 medium mugs of milk
  • 50gr. of good quality milk chocolate
  • 4 tbsp. of cacao powder
  • 2 tbsp. of corn flour
  • Sugar to taste (I like mine without)
  1. Fill a mug with milk.
  2. In a saucepan mix together the cacao powder and the corn flour.
  3. Add a little bit of milk from the mug and whisk together to get a smooth paste. Adding a little bit of milk at the time if needed.
  4. Once you have smooth paste add all the remaining milk and whisk.
  5. Chop the milk chocolate in small pieces and add to the saucepan.
  6. Put on medium to low heat and warm up the milk while whisking regularly.
  7. Once the mixture has started to thicken and starts to bubble take it off the heat and pour in your mugs.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

